Head page

ICA Commission


Chair + Vice Chairs

Cartographic Heritage

Terms of Reference


Commission Desk

Texts + Docs

Workshops+ Tutorials

Supporting Institutions

MAGIC - Map & Geoinformation Curators Group


Period I (2006-2011)



The Commission is hosted at the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (AUTH), Department of Cadastre, Photogrammetry and Cartography, School of Rural and Surveying Engineering, Faculty of Engineering. It is also supported by the Hellenic Cartographic Society (XEEE/HCS)

ICA Commission

The Commission on Digital Technologies in Cartographic Heritage is one of the 28 Commissions of the ICA / International Cartographic Association in Official Relations with the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) and the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC); a Scientific Associate of the International Council for Science (ICSU)

According to the Article 24 of the Statute of the ICA

The Commission's profile and its activities are illustrated in this web site hosted in the server of Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (AUTH), in association with the Hellenic Cartographic Society (XEEE/HCS)

The Commission's work is assisted by a voluntary Commission Desk by the Chair. Colleagues and research associates in Cartography, from the AUTH, support the overall operation of the Commission.

A number of relevant institutions supported actively the Commission's work, in a number of issues, during its periods I and II (2006-2011 and 2011-2015) involving staff and resources, implementing into their own research and applied work the ideas and the results developed in Commission. The list of the Supporting Institutions include those which actively participated not only with a single member, but with a group of more contributors, implying in their own structures the ideas, theories and practices developed in the frame of the Commission's work